Arctic Wolf


I love wolves, probably because I love dogs. I’ve always had them, ever since I was little (dogs, that is!). All kinds, too.

This one reminds me of a Samoyed I once owned. Probably the happiest dog I’ve ever owned. Seriously, he could make the entire Disney empire look depressed and in need of meds. While this guy isn’t quite that happy, he does resemble my dog.

I was surprised to find the wolves active; they’re usually very sedate whenever I visit the zoo. It was a hot July day and the wolves were moving briskly through the enclosure. I caught this one pausing and snapped away.

Photo Deets: Heavily cropped, I also thought about Ps’ing away the grass stain and dirt from around his eyes, but in the end decided against it. I may have to revisit that decision though, as that dirt blob is really bugging me. I was also able to get my lens close enough to the wire barricade that the lens couldn’t focus on it, effectively turning it invisible in the shot. 400mm, 1/640, f/8, ISO100, on a monopod.

Leave a Reply

