Aesop Revisited


This photo reminds me of the old fable where a poor man believes he is going to be eaten by a lion but instead realizes the lion is injured; he saves the lion by pulling out a thorn from his paw. Later, the lion returns the favor by not attacking when the man is captured and “fed to the lions”. They get married, have kids, and live happily ever after.

Or something like that.

This lion looks like she is suffering from a thorn in the paw. Her facial expression and her upturned paw combine to make me believe she is hurt. Fear Not, Oh Ye Hysterical PETA Members! In fact, I have captured her mid-yawn, and her paw is simply how she left it after licking it. I got the exact shot I was thinking of when I first saw her.

And for all you pedant’s out there who are going to give me a hard time because the lion in the fable was a male and my lion here is female, well, all I have to say is, “Lassie!” Yeah, that’s right. LASSIE!

400mm, 1/500, f/5.6, ISO500

Until next time,
PG

Leave a Reply

